TriVeg

Meet a girl just trying to survive college as a vegetarian triathlete

Courtney Fun Fact

Good morning everyone! As promised, I will be sharing some more fun facts about myself today. But first…

I woke up this morning at 6:30 to run with one of my friends from high school before our 8 am classes! We haven’t run together in awhile so it was rather enjoyable. Sometimes its really nice to run with boys, even when they are kicking your butt! Pre run snack of peanut butter and banana (you will soon learn that pb and banana is my go to pre workout fuel). We went for about 40 minutes, it was such a lovely morning.

When we got back, I showered real quick, ate a handful of cereal and apple and headed out the door. I had a chemistry lab that I knew would end early so I would be able to head back to the dorm after the lab and get my cereal (which I am enjoying as I write this) along with my venti unsweetened iced coffee with a splash of soy. Bowl of cereal includes: cornflakes, kashi warm cinnamon heart to heart, homemade granola, peanut butter puffins, half a banana, frozen blueberries, and a handful of almonds… with some grapes on the side 🙂

On to the first of many Courtney fun facts and probably the most important.

I am a vegetarian. Why? I’m allergic to meat! Yep! You heard read correctly. During my senior year of high school, I began experiencing horrific stomach pain after I ate and no one could explain why it was happening. I got to visit the ER multiple times and missed 20 days of school for doctors appointments! Finally, after about 4 months of suffering and countless medical tests, my mom decided to take me to the allergist. I kept a food diary during this time to see if we could find something that was making me so sick (I had already been diagnosed with gastritis, so I was already limiting my intake of acidic foods), we saw that I felt the worst after eating meat. After multiple scratch tests at the allergist, they found that I was extremely allergic to beef, pork, milk, and possibly wheat. However, I still continued to feel sick so I cut all forms of meat except fish. I was also able to build a tolerance to wheat again after a month of being gluten free.

So here I am. A college freshman trying to support my nutritional needs without a kitchen and training for and competing in triathlons!

…..still more to come, but I am off to class! Have a good day friends!

P.S. Pictures will be up soon. My camera cord is at home unfortunately.

April 21, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

