TriVeg

Meet a girl just trying to survive college as a vegetarian triathlete

GOOOOOOD

MORNING!!!!

I don’t know why but I am in a rather chipper mood this morning. I woke up with the usual swim workout and am currently enjoying a lovely bowl of cereal, however, my lovely bowl of warm cinnamon kashi heart to heart, PB puffins, cornflakes, kashi go lean, kashi go lean crunch, apple cinnamon  granola, homemade granola, blueberries, bananas, flax seed, and vanilla soy milk is almost gone. I really enjoy eating cereal at this point because it has gotten kinda soggy… yum!

Now today, I have so many things I want to post about, but for now I want to bounce off of Courtney’s  blog at Sweet Tooth Sweet Life. She discussed how she had eliminated oatmeal from her diet due to allergies but was able to reintroduce it. I almost feel like an expert in the area of eliminating a food and then reintroducing it.

When I was diagnosed with my allergies, I was forced to stop eating beef, pork, milk, and wheat, but since I was still getting sick, I also stopped eating poultry including eggs. I love eggs: scrambled, poached, boiled, etc. I honestly didn’t mind not eating meat though. I mean steak was good, but I was not devastated that I couldn’t eat it. But wheat and eggs were a serious challenge for me. It was so hard. You all know how much I love cereal and trying to find new cereals that were as good as my regular cereals was so difficult. I also really, really missed bagels. I remember how excited I was when I was able to eat a Triscuit with NO pain. I was still very careful with the amount of wheat I ate, but I remember how amazing that first taste of bagel was.

Toward the end of last summer, about 6 months after I was diagnosed with my allergies, I wanted to try eggs. I was sick of having to eat protein shakes to keep my weight up and I knew that eggs were an amazing source of protein and would make me stronger. At first, I only had an egg white. I waited about 2 days and with no pain, I tried half of a scrambled egg and again no pain. I just remember that first taste of scrambled egg. It was the most amazing taste in the entire world. I ate scrambled eggs like it was my job previously. Seriously, I had 2ish scrambled eggs for breakfast at least 3 days a week. I can’t wait to start making scrambled eggs this summer.

I think that eliminating any food from your diet is not a good idea. I have found that when I eliminate a food, I just crave it even more. For instance, one of my friends gave up chocolate for Lent. She craved chocolate SO bad by the end of Lent that it just took over her life. There is no point in depriving yourself of anything (food) or making yourself do something (exercise). Sometimes it seems like its the only option we have when trying to maintain a healthy life, but depriving yourself or forcing yourself to do something you don’t really want to do is going to come back and haunt you. It may cause cravings and motivation loss. (P.S. when I say “you”, I don’t actually mean you.) I just wanted to throw out some food for thought. I have found myself saying, “Oh, I really shouldn’t eat that,” or “I really need to exercise today,” even though I am hungry or tired. But it is so important to remember to eat what your body craves and rest when your body needs it (to an extent). So remember that when you find yourself struggling with your goals, and remember that you always have support! :)

Off to class my friends!

April 27, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. It’s looking great Court! I can’t wait to read more! :)

    Comment by Jenny @ Fitness Health and Food | April 27, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

